The Voice In Your Head

have you ever thanked her
the voice in your head
tells you when to get up
get showered and dressed

she tells you to eat
and exercise too
she pays your bills
and looks after you

she manages your affairs
night and day
looks after your interests
invests your pay

there are times
she talks all day long
listing over and over
what you’ve done wrong

wash up the dishes
put away your crap
don’t even think
about taking a nap

she nags you, bosses you
all damn day
often you wish
she’d just go away

but if she didn’t live
inside your head
you might very well
wind up dead

she loves you, you see
wants only the best
because you are her
sole responsibility

if you would give her
a little gratitude each day
she would carve out
some more time for play

she is not your friend
nor your enemy
she is your manager
your frenemy

so try to remember
when you go to bed
to thank her, your manager
the voice in your head

photo-1479064448589-3a0f3b707609.jpeg

Photo Credit: NordWood Themes via Unsplash

 

8 thoughts on “The Voice In Your Head

    1. Thank you for your lovely feedback. I’m happy my poem spoke to you. I didn’t know I had any poetry inside of me until I started blogging.
      I’ve read a few more chapters of your book now and I’ve enjoyed them all. I look forward to reading more when time permits. Best wishes. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I’m enjoying your novel. My mind is not scientifically inclined so I don’t understand everything I’m reading but I’m using your novel (in a novel way) to learn more about science and become more familiar with scientific terminology. Thanks. πŸ€“

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s awesome. Some of the links are to “fringe” science, of course, but throughout history the major breakthroughs in science have tended to come from outside the established lines of inquiry. Usually the powerful experts dismiss radical new ideas without giving them a chance.

        Thank you for reading my novel! πŸ™‚ If it gets too boring, I understand. I think it picks up a little toward the end.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

