Inner Smiling

Inner Smiling

I was deep in meditation when I became aware that I had a great big goofy smile on my face. Luxuriating in the sensation for a few minutes, I had a sudden urge to mentally project the smile into my chest and let it radiate through my body. It was the most wonderful healing feeling, I was beaming from head to toe as I went about my day.

Later, when I was playing on my iPad, the phrase ‘inner smiling’ popped into my head. I jumped on the internet and googled it and sure enough there’s a Taoist Meditation technique called inner smiling. This didn’t really surprise me but as I searched through the results I was amused to find out that I hadn’t done it right!

Apparently, I was supposed to sit in an upright position, feet flat on the floor with spine erect instead of being relaxed in my recliner with my feet up. My hands were meant to be clasped in my lap, not relaxed by my side. I didn’t know that I should have brought the smile to my third eye and then place it on my thymus. Clearly I needed some guidance but alas the inner smiling experts on the internet gave slightly different instructions. Who was I to trust? Oh dear, perhaps I should buy the book The Inner Smile and it will give me the definitive answer!

I have to laugh or otherwise I’d cry at how we humans complicate things. Do we really need instructions on how to smile inwardly to ourselves? Will our body reject our smile if we don’t have our feet flat on the floor? Nobody taught me to smile when I was a baby, I figured it out for myself. Screw the inner smiling rules! I’m doing it my way!

May all beings enjoy a great big goofy smile!

jtvgydbun30-brooke-lark

Photo Credit: Brooke Lark via Unsplash

3 thoughts on “Inner Smiling

Leave a Reply

